Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology



Vote in the Council Elections 

Voting has now closedCongratulations to Dr Elene Ly and Dr Sharon Ford who have been elected. Their term of office will start at the AGM on 30 August 2021. 

The 57th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology (ANZSN) will be held virtually on Monday, 30 August 2021, after Day One of the online Annual Scientific Meeting


2021 Nominees



Dr Sharon Ford

I am a Nephrologist based at St Vincent’s Hospital in Melbourne. I studied medicine at Monash University and completed Advanced Training at The Alfred Hospital and Monash Medical Centre in 2012. I am near completion of a PhD at Monash University.

I am the deputy chair of the ANZSN Scientific program and awards committee and lead nephrology clinical research and the transplant assessment and general nephrology clinics at St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne. I have an interest in renal biopsy teaching and registrar training and mentoring. I have undertaken supervision of medical student Nephrology rotations and research projects and am the self-appointed social committee president for the St Vincent’s Nephrology Dept.

I am applying for council to endeavour to provide a voice on council for junior members of the society and provide council perspective on training, research involvement and career and workforce issues from a junior consultant viewpoint. I believe I can provide diversity to council in terms of my career stage and my understanding of issues affecting current trainees.

I feel strongly in the need for revitalised council and executive communication with members ensuring increased awareness of ANZSN activities and research, learning and reward and recognition opportunities especially for junior ANZSN members. I will attempt to encourage engagement of all members of the society to ensure all perspectives are considered and the society sustains a balanced focus on research, education and clinical care in all forums and formats in which nephrology care provision occurs now and in the future. I would seek to ensure that broad and diverse representation of society members is provided to council to ensure that the society’s work remains relevant to all its members and those consumers of nephrology clinical care, research and advocacy.



2021 New Zealand Nominee



Dr Elene Ly

I work as a Nephrologist at Middlemore Hospital Counties Manukau Health, Auckland, New Zealand.  I have accepted a nomination for ANZSN Council.  ANZSN can help guide how Nephrology is developed and experienced by clinicians, advanced trainees, patients and their families.  I feel that I would be able to contribute to this, and provide a balanced and considered perspective.      

I completed my MBChB at University of Auckland, and Nephrology Advanced Training in New Zealand.  I became a Fellow of the RACP in 2015.  I have worked as a fulltime Nephrologist at Middlemore Hospital since 2016 and am clinical lead for our Renal Young Adult Network and local Nephrology advanced trainee teaching programme.  I previously organised the INSTEP programme for New Zealand Nephrology advanced trainees.   I am an Honorary Senior Lecturer at the University of Auckland, School of Medicine and a member of the Auckland Nephrology regional selection panel.



Continuing Councillors

Professor David Johnson, President-elect, QLD

Professor Peter Kerr, Honorary Treasurer, VIC

Associate Professor Kamal Sud, Honorary Executive Officer, NSW

Dr Andrew Henderson, Councillor, NZ

Associate Professor Rathika Krishnasamy, Councillor, QLD

Associate Professor Sandawana William Majoni, Councillor, NT

Dr Tim Spicer, Councillor, NSW

Ms Sophie Valkan, Councillor, VIC

Dr Jeff Wong, Councillor, NSW


Please visit our Structure and Governance page for current councillor bios.