ANZSN Awards

T J Neale Award for outstanding contribution to Nephrological Science

The call for the 2017 TJ Neale Award is now CLOSED.

Nominations or applications must be lodged by emailing a single PDF file (MS word files will also be accepted) to:

The Honorary Executive Officer
Australian & New Zealand Society of Nephrology
145 Macquarie Street
Sydney NSW 2000

Fax: +61 2 9241 4083

Applications must be submitted by COB Friday the 31st March 2017

For more information: 2017 Call For TJ Neale Award



The Society presents a number of awards at its Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) such as:

Young Investigator Awards

Best Science Awards

Best Rural Science Award

Best Interventional Nephrology Science Award

Clinical Trainee Prize

Applications are called for as part of the ASM abstract submission process and are judged at the ASM. the awards are presented at the Annual ASM Dinner. Please note: The responsibility for the administration and judging of these awards lies with the Society’s Scientific Programme and Education Committee.


ANZSN Rural Prize

The best rural science award is presented annually at the ANZSN scientific meeting. The purpose of the award is to encourage and support research in rural nephrology services.

The prize is awarded to the highest ranked rural abstract following peer review for the ANZSN annual scientific meeting.

If the scientific work for your abstract has been completed in a rural Nephrology service (see definition below) then you are invited to tick the rural box during the abstract submission process for the ANZSN annual scientific meeting.

The eligibility criteria for the best rural science award includes

Definition of rurality:

The definition of rurality for the ANZSN best rural science award is based on but not restricted to both the RRMA (population size) and ARIA (distance from services) classifications, as well as self-selection as per the tick box on the abstract submission process (note that self-selected rural abstracts will be reviewed to ensure they meet the above criteria). Although RRMA and ARIA definitions apply to Australia the same definitions will be used for New Zealand. Rural is defined as ‘Areas excluding capital cities and close surrounds and major cities with a population of > 100,000 unless isolated by distance of > 5 hours by road from a capital city.

Centres ineligible for rural classification

If the scientific work for your abstract has been completed in one of the following hospitals with a Renal unit you are NOT eligible for the best rural science award. This list is not exhaustive. If you remain unclear whether your scientific work has been completed in a rural hospital or not then please contact ANZSN (

Click here for the complete list 2015 Non Rural Units